Gnomes,gremlins And Little Men

• You cannot reply to this topic
7 replies to this topic

#1 blazegardner

EVP

• GS Member
  • 89 posts

Posted 24 March 2016 - 04:50 PM

Forgive me for posting yet another Dark5 YouTube video but they're just so good.
In this video Gnomes and Gremlin sighting's are discussed.

https://m.youtube.co...h?v=vi9A4Uh8atg

#2 TechSavvy

Cold Spot

• GS Member
  • 16 posts
  • Interests:Family, technical mysteries, automobiles, radio electronics

Posted 20 June 2016 - 06:34 PM

In a former life I was an avionics tech (1970-1984) in general aviation. I was 17 when I started and I assumed gremlins were just a folk tale, like fairies. (I hope I don't get chastised for the fairies!) Yet, on average once a year I would run across technical phenomena that didn't behave right: instead of changing based on what I did, it changed behavior based on what I knew about it. I soon learned that the other techs mostly accepted that there were gremlins: malfunctions that could not be hunted down the usual way but by proving they couldn't exist... then they would disappear. A classic example was a tube-type radio that belonged to our secretary. The squelch didn't work, and for a common reason. It was a noise operated squelch and the receiver didn't have enough gain to make it work. Al worked on it for a day with no success; Zeke put in his 8 hours. By this time I had established myself as the Boy Wonder, so I sat confidently down, expecting to find something obscure like an open screen or cathode bypass capacitor. No such luck. After 24 hours of flogging it I knew all the stages had decent gain but together they came up short. 40 hours and nothing. Roger, the owner, found an identical radio that worked and set it up alongside the first on the bench. He transfused signal to the bad radio, stage by stage. Good... good...good...good. He removed the jumpers and the radio worked normally, and did as long as I was there.