10 replies to this topic

#1 moiraesfate

moiraesfate

Doppelganger

• GS Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,495 posts

Posted 24 November 2018 - 07:48 PM

I'd like to get the opinions of some people I've known but aren't attached to the situation.

As you know, I love my job, again, from the batshit crazy owner of the last place I worked for (for the 4th time).

Of course, I've applied to, and received, unemployment.

I just opened a business. I'm a web and graphic designer, and a virtual assistant. It's only been open a couple weeks so I don't have a client yet, but I have been getting alot of requests for rates, and my social media has all been seeing a good (but not fabulous) jump in links and visit time. I really think the first client will come soon. This business will allow me to work at home, set my own hours, decide who I want to work with, do the things I enjoy while not offering the things I hate (like answering the loathsome telephone), and allow me to make alot more money.

But the other day I was offered a job at the place where my husband is working. I can work at home. I'd be installing hotel computer programs, and training people to use them for 40k per year. Here's the thing, it's only a contract position that would last six months and may, or may not, lead to working elsewhere in the company at the end. I'd have to go train in New Jersey which would basically mean I have to set my business aside for that time period.

I accepted the job because if I refuse it likely won't come again.

Here's the thing, everything in me is saying "don't do it". I get a stomach ache and want to cry at the thought. I burned out so bad from working for the last nutbag. My husband loves the company and I trust his judgement but our personalities are a bit different. He's much more tolerant and democratic than I am even though I am very good with customers, training and the programs needed.